Writing Prompt: Guilt

guilt

Prompt: Share a time when you were overcome with guilt. What were the circumstances? How did you overcome your guilt? (The Daily Post)

I’ve mentioned before that I used to be a hot head and I can be very snappy and sarcastic at times. (We all have our flaws, right?) I recall a day where my bad attitude caused me to do something that left me feeling extremely guilty. 

At that time, I was living in Hattiesburg. Every now and then I’d take the hour and a half long trip to Jackson on the weekends to visit my family.

I can’t remember exactly what caused my mother and I to argue that day, but whatever it was pissed me off to the max. I said some harsh words to her after she’d said some to me and I got in my car and headed right on back to Hattiesburg. I think I was only in Jackson for an hour or two.

While driving back, I got this extreme feeling of guilt. I’m secretly a softie and I realized that I shouldn’t have talked disrespectfully to my mother, much less storm out of the house and get on the highway. What if that was the last time we’d ever see each other?

I called her and apologized for the way I spoke to her about halfway into my trip. I’ve never left her house that way since.

jessicasimiensignature

About Jessica

Jessica Simien is a blogger and freelance writer from Jackson, MS. To contact Jessica, follow her on Twitter @jessicasimien or email her at jessica@jessicasimien.com.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing Prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment